People

If you would like to join the NCSE as a member please complete our NCSE application form, explaining how your research aligns with the scope of NCSE. Further details available here.

Executive Committee

Name Position Affiliation email
Paul Blackwell Professor of statistics University of Sheffield p.blackwell@sheffield.ac.uk
David Borchers Professor of statistics University of St Andrews dlb@st-andrews.ac.uk
Luca Borger Professor of biosciences University of Swansea l.borger@swansea.ac.uk
Steve Buckland Professor of Statistics University of St Andrews steve@st-andrews.ac.uk
Ruth King NCSE Deputy Director, Professor of statistics University of Edinburgh Ruth.King@ed.ac.uk
Rachel McCrea NCSE Director, Professor of Statistics University of Kent R.S.McCrea@kent.ac.uk
Theo Michelot Research fellow, NCSE Early-Career Representative University of St Andrews tm75@st-andrews.ac.uk
Byron Morgan Emeritus Professor of Statistics University of Kent B.J.T.Morgan@kent.ac.uk
Rhona Rodger NCSE administrator University of St Andrews rmr5@st-andrews.ac.uk

Members

Name Position Affiliation email
Timo Adam Research Fellow University of St Andrews ta59@st-andrews.ac.uk
Nicholas Aebischer Deputy director of research Game and Wildlife Conservation Trust naebischer@gwct.org.uk
Nicole Augustin Senior Lecturer in statistics University of Bath N.H.Augustin@bath.ac.uk
Rosemary Bailey Professor of Statistics University of St Andrews rab24@st-andrews.ac.uk
Lindsay Banin Statistical Ecologist Centre for Ecology and Hydrology libanin@ceh.ac.uk
Jon Barry Statistician CEFAS, Lowestoft jon.barry@cefas.co.uk
Takis Besbeas Lecturer Athens University of Economics and Business P.T.Besbeas@kent.ac.uk
Gui Bortolotto Research fellow University of St Andrews gabdo@st-andrews.ac.uk
Adrian Bowman Professor of statistics University of Glasgow adrian@stats.gla.ac.uk
Philipp Boersch-Supan Ecological statistician British Trust for Ornithology philipp.boerschsupan@bto.org
Phil Bouchet Research fellow University of St Andrews pb282@st-andrews.ac.uk
Mark Brewer Director of BioSS BioSS markb@bioss.ac.uk
Steve Brooks Honorary Professor in mathematics University of Exeter S.P.Brooks@exeter.ac.uk
William Browne Professor of statistics University of Bristol William.Browne@bristol.ac.uk
Louise Burt Head of RUWPA, Research fellow University of St Andrews lb9@st-andrews.ac.uk
Adam Butler Statistician BioSS adam@bioss.ac.uk
Matt Carter Research Fellow University of St Andrews midc@st-andrews.ac.uk
Edward Codling Professor of mathematical biology University of Essex ecodling@essex.ac.uk
Diana Cole Senior Lecturer in statistics University of Kent D.J.Cole@kent.ac.uk
Thomas Cornulier Research Fellow University of Aberdeen cornulier@abdn.ac.uk
Emily Dennis Senior Ecological Statistician Butterfly conservation edennis@butterfly-conservation.org
Alex Diana Research fellow University of Kent ad603@kent.ac.uk
Carl Donovan Lecturer in statistics University of St Andrews crd2@st-andrews.ac.uk
Ian Durbach Research fellow University of St Andrews id52@st-andrews.ac.uk
David Elston BioSS davide@bioss.ac.uk
Richard Everitt Associate professor of statistics University of Warwick richard.everitt@warwick.ac.uk
Victor Elvira Reader in statistics University of Edinburgh victor.elvira@ed.ac.uk
Steve Freeman Statistician Centre for Ecology and Hydrology sfreeman@ceh.ac.uk
Rob Fryer Statistics group leader FRS Marine Lab, Aberdeen r.fryer@marlab.ac.uk
Richard Glennie Research fellow University of St Andrews rg374@st-andrews.ac.uk
Jeremy Greenwood Honorary professor University of St Andrews jjg21@st-andrews.ac.uk
Stephen Gregory Fisheries Scientist Game and Wildlife Conservation Trust sgregory@gwct.org.uk
Catriona Harris Research fellow University of St Andrews cms11@st-andrews.ac.uk
Danielle Harris Research fellow University of St Andrews dh17@st-andrews.ac.uk
John Harwood Professor University of St Andrews jh17@st-andrews.ac.uk
Dan Haydon Professor of population ecology and epidemiology University of Glasgow d.haydon@bio.gla.ac.uk
Peter Henrys Statistician Centre for Ecology and Hydrology pehn@ceh.ac.uk
Dave Hodgson Lecturer in ecology University of Exeter d.j.hodgson@exeter.ac.uk
Janine Illian Professor University of Glasgow Janine.Illian@glasgow.ac.uk
Eiren Jacobson Research Fellow University of St Andrews ej45@st-andrews.ac.uk
Alison Johnston Post doctoral Researcher in Statistical Ecology Cornell University and Cambridge University aj303@cam.ac.uk
Esther Jones Statistician BioSS esther.jones@bioss.ac.uk
Finn Lindgren Professor University of Edinburgh Finn.Lindgren@ed.ac.uk
Monique Mackenzie Senior Lecturer in statistics University of St Andrews mlm6@st-andrews.ac.uk
Tiago Marques Research fellow University of St Andrews tam2@st-andrews.ac.uk
Laura Marshall Research fellow University of St Andrews lhm@st-andrews.ac.uk
Toby Marthews Terrestrial ecologist and hydrologist Centre for Ecology and Hydrology tobmar@ceh.ac.uk
Eleni Matechou Lecturer University of Kent e.matechou@kent.ac.uk
Jason Matthiopoulos Professor of spatial and population ecology University of Glasgow Jason.Matthiopoulos@glasgow.ac.uk
David Maxwell Statistician CEFAS david.maxwell@cefas.co.uk
David Miller Research fellow University of St Andrews dlm22@st-andrews.ac.uk
Evalyne Muiruri CEFAS emuiruri25@gmail.com
Jane Murray Lecturer University of Bristol Jane.Murray@bristol.ac.uk
Ken Newman Principal Researcher in Statistical Methodology BioSS ken.newman@bioss.ac.uk
Mu Niu Research fellow** University of Sheffield m.niu@sheffield.ac.uk
Cornelia Oedekoven Research fellow* University of St Andrews cso2@st-andrews.ac.uk
Joe Onoufriou Research fellow University of St Andrews jojo.onoufriou@gmail.com
Oscar Rodriguez de Rivera Ortega Research fellow University of Kent o.ortega@kent.ac.uk
Alison Parton Teaching fellow University of Sheffield a.parton@shef.ac.uk
Charles Paxton Research fellow University of St Andrews cgp2@st-andrews.ac.uk
Jonathan Potts Senior lecturer University of Sheffield j.potts@sheffield.ac.uk
Sean Rands Lecturer University of Bristol Sean.Rands@bristol.ac.uk
Eric Rexstad Senior research fellow University of St Andrews er26@st-andrews.ac.uk
Martin Ridout Professor of statistics University of Kent M.S.Ridout@kent.ac.uk
Gail Robertson Statistical consultant University of Edinburgh Gail.Robertson@ed.ac.uk
Rob Robinson Associate Director, Research British Trust for Ornithology rob.robinson@bto.org
Marcus Rowcliffe Research fellow Institute of Zoology marcus.rowcliffe@ioz.ac.uk
Deborah Russell Research fellow University of St Andrews dr60@st-andrews.ac.uk
Marian Scott Professor of environmental statistics University of Glasgow marian@stats.gla.ac.uk
Lindesay Scott-Hayward Lecturer in statistics University of St Andrews lass@st-andrews.ac.uk
Kate Searle Ecological modeller Centre for Ecology and Hydrology katrle@ceh.ac.uk
Ron Smith Statistician Centre for Ecology and Hydrology ris@ceh.ac.uk
Hideyasu Shimadzu Lecturer in statistics University of Loughborough H.Shimadzu@lboro.ac.uk
Michael Spence CEFAS michael.spence@cefas.co.uk
Chris Sutherland Reader University of St Andrews css6@st-andrews.ac.uk
Ben Swallow Lecturer in statistics University of Glasgow Ben.Swallow@glasgow.ac.uk
Camille Szmaragd Research fellow University of Bristol camille.szmaragd@bristol.ac.uk
Len Thomas Professor University of St Andrews len.thomas@st-andrews.ac.uk
Stuart Townley Professor of applied mathematics University of Exeter S.B.Townley@exeter.ac.uk
Nicola Walker Fisheries Scientist CEFAS nicola.walker@cefas.co.uk
Simon Wood Professor of statistics University of Bristol simon.wood@bristol.ac.uk
Hannah Worthington Lecturer in statistics University of St Andrews hw233@st-andrews.ac.uk

* Funded or part-funded by EPSRC Mathematics Interdisciplinary Critical Mass Award to NCSE
** Funded or part-funded by EPSRC NCSE ‘beyond 2010’ award

International Members

>

Name Position Affiliation email
Res Altwegg Associate professor University of Capetown, South Africa Res.Altwegg@uct.ac.za
Richard Barker Professor of statistics University of Otago, New Zealand rbarker@maths.otago.ac.nz
Simon Bonner Assistant professor of environmetrics University of Western Ontario, Canada sbonner6@uwo.ca
Mark Bravington Research scientist CSIRO, Australia Mark.Bravington@csiro.au
RĂ©mi Choquet Research engineer CEFE, CNRS, France remi.choquet@cefe.cnrs.fr
Allan Clark Senior Lecturer University of Cape Town, South Africa Allan.Clark@uct.ac.za
David Conesa Professor University of Valencia, Spain david.v.conesa@uv.es
Paul Conn Research statistician MML, USA Paul.Conn@noaa.gov
Laura Cowen Associate professor University of Victoria, Canada lcowen@uvic.ca
Murray Efford University of Otago, New Zealand murray.efford@otago.ac.nz
Rachel Fewster Professor of Statistiscs University of Auckland, New Zealand r.fewster@auckland.ac.nz
David Fletcher Associate professor University of Otago, New Zealand david@davidfletcher.consulting
Olivier Gimenez Research scientist CEFE, CNRS, France olivier.gimenez@cefe.cnrs.fr
Gurutzeta Guillera-Arroita Lecturer in Ecological Modelling University of Melbourne, Australia gurutzeta.guillera@unimelb.edu.au
Devin Johnson Statistician MML, USA Devin.Johnson@noaa.gov
Charlotte Jones-Todd cmjonestodd@gmail.com
Marc Kery Population Ecologist Swiss Ornithological Institute, Switzerland marc.kery@vogelwarte.ch
Jeff Laake Statistician MML, USA jefflaake@gmail.com
Jose Lahoz-Monfort Lecturer in Ecological Modelling University of Melbourne, Australia jose.lahoz@unimelb.edu.au
Roland Langrock Professor of statistics and data analysis University of Bielefeld roland.langrock@uni-bielefeld.de
Brett McClintock Statistician MML, USA Brett.McClintock@noaa.gov
Louise McMillan Research fellow Victoria University of Wellington louise.mcmillan@vuw.ac.nz
Sina Mews Research student University of Bielefeld sina.mews@uni-bielefeld.de
Marina Jimenez Munoz Research fellow iDiv (German Centre for Integrative Biodiversity Research) marina.jimenez_munoz@idiv.de
Jim Nichols Wildlife biologist / Senior scientist Patuxent Wildlife Research Center, USA jnichols@usgs.gov
Shirley Pledger Professor of statistics Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand shirley.pledger@vuw.ac.nz
Roger Pradel Research director CEFE, CNRS, France roger.pradel@cefe.cnrs.fr
Andy Royle Research statistician Patuxent Wildlife Research Center, USA aroyle@usgs.gov
Blanca Sarzo Research student University of Valencia, Spain Blanca.Sarzo@uv.es
Matt Schofield Senior Lecturer University of Otago, New Zealand mschofield@maths.otago.ac.nz
Tore Schweder Professor of statistics University of Oslo, Norway tore.schweder@econ.uio.no
Michael Schaub Population Ecologist Swiss Ornithological Institute, Switzerland michael.schaub@vogelwarte.ch
Daniel Simpson Assistant Professor University of Toronto simpson@utstat.toronto.edu
Hans Julius Skaug Professor University of Bergen, Norway Hans.Skaug@math.uib.no
Geir Storvik Professor University of Oslo, Norway geirs@math.uio.no
Ben Stevenson Lecturer University of Auckland ben.stevenson@auckland.ac.nz
Angelika Studeny Research fellow Centre de recherche Inria, Grenoble, France angelika.studeny@gmail.com
Jay Ver Hoef Statistician MML, USA jay.verhoef@noaa.gov
Wei Zhang Research fellow University of Berkeley weizhang0721@berkeley.edu

Research students

Name Position Affiliation email
Hajar Alkhezi Research student University of Sheffield HMAAlkhezi1@shef.ac.uk
Joe Bailey Research student University of Essex jbailey@essex.ac.uk
Hayley Bannister Research student University of Sheffield hjbannister1@sheffield.ac.uk
Katie Bickerton Research student University of Kent kb620@kent.ac.uk
Rick Camp Research student University of St Andrews rjc25@st-andrews.ac.uk
James Clarke Research student University of Kent jac210@kent.ac.uk
Hanan Dreiwi Research student University of Exeter had201@exeter.ac.uk
Aiman Elragig Research student University of Exeter ase204@exeter.ac.uk
Fanny Empacher Research student University of St Andrews fe21@st-andrews.ac.uk
Cal Fagard-Jenkin Research student University of St Andrews cfj2@st-andrews.ac.uk
Claudia Faustino Research student University of St Andrews cesf2@st-andrews.ac.uk
Christina Fell Research student University of St Andrews cmf21@st-andrews.ac.uk
Filippo Franchini Research student University of St Andrews flcf@st-andrews.ac.uk
Chloe Francis Research student University of Kent cmf33@kent.ac.uk
Danielle Hendricksen Research student University of Kent dh509@kent.ac.uk
Riki Herliansyah Research student University of Edinburgh r.h.herliansyah@sms.ed.ac.uk
Fiona Houlgreave Research student University of Loughborough F.Houlgreave@lboro.ac.uk
Martin Legarreta Gonzalez Research student University of Sheffield stp09mal@sheffield.ac.uk
Fabian Ketwaroo Research student University of Kent fk231@kent.ac.uk
Edward Lavender Research student University of St Andrews el72@st-andrews.ac.uk
Ewan McHenry Research student University of Aberdeen ewan.mchenry.08@aberdeen.ac.uk
Ulrike Naumann Research student University of Kent un26@kent.ac.uk
Heloise Pavanto Research student University of Otago, New Zealand hpavanato@maths.otago.ac.nz
Felix Petersma Research student University of St Andrews ftp@st-andrews.ac.uk
Andy Seaton Research student University of St Andrews aes22@st-andrews.ac.uk
Paul Van Dam-Bates Research student University of St Andrews pvdb@st-andrews.ac.uk
Katherine Whyte Research student University of St Andrews kfw5@st-andrews.ac.uk

Administrative and Support Staff

Name Position Affiliation email
Phil Le Feuvre CREEM computing support officer University of St Andrews plf@st-andrews.ac.uk
Rhona Rodger CREEM administrator University of St Andrews rmr5@st-andrews.ac.uk