People

Executive Committee

Name Position Affiliation email
Paul Blackwell Professor of statistics University of Sheffield p.blackwell@sheffield.ac.uk
Steve Buckland NCSE Co-director University of St Andrews steve@st-andrews.ac.uk
Ruth King Professor of statistics University of Edinburgh Ruth.King@ed.ac.uk
Byron Morgan NCSE Co-director University of Kent B.J.T.Morgan@kent.ac.uk
Simon Wood Professor of statistics University of Bristol simon.wood@bristol.ac.uk
Alexa Laurence NCSE administrator &
newsletter editor
University of Kent A.F.Laurence@kent.ac.uk

Members

Name Position Affiliation email
Nicholas Aebischer Deputy director of research Game and Wildlife Conservation Trust naebischer@gwct.org.uk
Nicole Augustin Senior Lecturer in statistics University of Bath N.H.Augustin@bath.ac.uk
Lindsay Banin Centre for Ecology and Hydrology libanin@ceh.ac.uk
Jon Barry Statistician CEFAS, Lowestoft jon.barry@cefas.co.uk
Takis Besbeas Research associate in statistics** University of Kent P.T.Besbeas@kent.ac.uk
David Borchers Professor of statistics University of St Andrews dlb@st-andrews.ac.uk
Adrian Bowman Professor of statistics University of Glasgow adrian@stats.gla.ac.uk
Mark Brewer Principal consultant for ecology and environmental science BioSS markb@bioss.ac.uk
Steve Brooks Honorary Professor in mathematics University of Exeter S.P.Brooks@exeter.ac.uk
William Browne Professor of statistics University of Bristol William.Browne@bristol.ac.uk
Louise Burt Head of RUWPA, Research fellow University of St Andrews lb9@st-andrews.ac.uk
Adam Butler Statistician BioSS adam@bioss.ac.uk
Edward Codling Professor of mathematical biology University of Essex ecodling@essex.ac.uk
Diana Cole Senior Lecturer in statistics University of Kent D.J.Cole@kent.ac.uk
Emily Dennis Research fellow University of Kent E.B.Dennis@kent.ac.uk
Carl Donovan Lecturer in statistics University of St Andrews crd2@st-andrews.ac.uk
David Elston Director BioSS davide@bioss.ac.uk
Steve Freeman Statistician Centre for Ecology and Hydrology sfreeman@ceh.ac.uk
Rob Fryer Statistics group leader FRS Marine Lab, Aberdeen r.fryer@marlab.ac.uk
Jeremy Greenwood Honorary professor University of St Andrews jeremy@mcs.st-and.ac.uk
Catriona Harris Research fellow University of St Andrews cms11@st-andrews.ac.uk
Danielle Harris Research fellow University of St Andrews dh17@st-andrews.ac.uk
John Harwood Professor University of St Andrews jh17@st-andrews.ac.uk
Dan Haydon Professor of population ecology and epidemiology University of Glasgow d.haydon@bio.gla.ac.uk
Peter Henrys Statistician Centre for Ecology and Hydrology pehn@ceh.ac.uk
Dave Hodgson Lecturer in ecology University of Exeter d.j.hodgson@exeter.ac.uk
Janine Illian Senior Lecturer in statistics University of St Andrews jbi@st-andrews.ac.uk
Alison Johnston Statistician BTO alison.johnston@bto.org
Alicia Ledo Research fellow University of Aberdeen alicialedo@abdn.ac.uk
Finn Lindgren Professor University of Edinburgh Finn.Lindgren@ed.ac.uk
Monique Mackenzie Lecturer in statistics University of St Andrews mlm6@st-andrews.ac.uk
Rachel McCrea Lecturer/NERC Fellow University of Kent R.S.McCrea@kent.ac.uk
Tiago Marques Research fellow University of St Andrews tam2@st-andrews.ac.uk
Laura Marshall Research fellow University of St Andrews lhm@st-andrews.ac.uk
Eleni Matechou Lecturer University of Kent e.matechou@kent.ac.uk
Jason Matthiopoulos Professor of spatial and population ecology University of Glasgow Jason.Matthiopoulos@glasgow.ac.uk
Iakovos Matsikis Teaching fellow University of Exeter I.Matsikis@exeter.ac.uk
David Maxwell Statistician CEFAS david.maxwell@cefas.co.uk
David Miller Research fellow University of St Andrews dlm22@st-andrews.ac.uk
Jane Murray Lecturer University of Bristol Jane.Murray@bristol.ac.uk
Mu Niu Research fellow** University of Sheffield m.niu@sheffield.ac.uk
Cornelia Oedekoven Research fellow* University of St Andrews cso2@st-andrews.ac.uk
Lauren Oliver l_oliver83@hotmail.co.uk
Charles Paxton Research fellow University of St Andrews cgp2@st-andrews.ac.uk
Sean Rands Lecturer University of Bristol Sean.Rands@bristol.ac.uk
Eric Rexstad NCSE conference coordinator, Senior research fellow University of St Andrews er26@st-andrews.ac.uk
Martin Ridout Professor of statistics University of Kent M.S.Ridout@kent.ac.uk
Marcus Rowcliffe Research fellow Institute of Zoology marcus.rowcliffe@ioz.ac.uk
Deborah Russell Research fellow University of St Andrews debbie@mcs.st-and.ac.uk
Marian Scott Professor of environmental statistics University of Glasgow marian@stats.gla.ac.uk
Lindesay Scott-Hayward Research fellow University of St Andrews lass@st-andrews.ac.uk
Kate Searle Ecological modeller Centre for Ecology and Hydrology katrle@ceh.ac.uk
Daniel Simpson Statistician University of Bath d.simpson@bath.ac.uk
Ron Smith Statistician Centre for Ecology and Hydrology ris@ceh.ac.uk
Hideyasu Shimadzu Lecturer in statistics University of Loughborough H.Shimadzu@lboro.ac.uk
Michael Spence Research fellow University of Sheffield M.A.Spence@shef.ac.uk
Iain Stott Research fellow University of Exeter i.stott@exeter.ac.uk
Camille Szmaragd Research fellow University of Bristol camille.szmaragd@bristol.ac.uk
Ben Stevenson Research fellow** University of St Andrews bcs5@st-and.ac.uk
Len Thomas Reader University of St Andrews len.thomas@st-andrews.ac.uk
Stuart Townley Professor of applied mathematics University of Exeter S.B.Townley@exeter.ac.uk
Hannah Worthington Teaching fellow University of St Andrews hw233@st-andrews.ac.uk
Yuan Yuan Research fellow** University of St Andrews yy84@st-andrews.ac.uk

* Funded or part-funded by EPSRC Mathematics Interdisciplinary Critical Mass Award to NCSE
** Funded or part-funded by EPSRC NCSE ‘beyond 2010’ award

International Members

Name Position Affiliation email
Richard Barker Professor of statistics University of Otago, New Zealand rbarker@maths.otago.ac.nz
Simon Bonner Assistant professor of environmetrics University of Western Ontario, Canada sbonner6@uwo.ca
Mark Bravington Research scientist CSIRO, Australia Mark.Bravington@csiro.au
Rémi Choquet Research engineer CEFE, CNRS, France remi.choquet@cefe.cnrs.fr
Paul Conn Research statistician MML, USA Paul.Conn@noaa.gov
Laura Cowen Associate professor University of Victoria, Canada lcowen@uvic.ca
Murray Efford University of Otago, New Zealand murray.efford@otago.ac.nz
Rachel Fewster Associate professor University of Auckland, New Zealand r.fewster@auckland.ac.nz
David Fletcher Associate professor University of Otago, New Zealand dfletcher@maths.otago.ac.nz
Olivier Gimenez Research scientist CEFE, CNRS, France olivier.gimenez@cefe.cnrs.fr
Gurutzeta Guillera-Arroita Research fellow University of Melbourne, Australia gurutzeta.guillera@unimelb.edu.au
Devin Johnson Statistician MML, USA Devin.Johnson@noaa.gov
Jeff Laake Statistician MML, USA Jeff.Laake@noaa.gov
Jose Lahoz-Monfort Research fellow University of Melbourne, Australia jose.lahoz@unimelb.edu.au
Roland Langrock Professor of statistics and data analysis University of Bielefeld roland.langrock@uni-bielefeld.de
Brett McClintock Statistician MML, USA Brett.McClintock@noaa.gov
Ken Newman Mathematical statistician USFWS, USA Ken_Newman@fws.gov
Jim Nichols Wildlife biologist / Senior scientist Patuxent Wildlife Research Center, USA jnichols@usgs.gov
Shirley Pledger Professor of statistics Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand shirley.pledger@vuw.ac.nz
Roger Pradel Research director CEFE, CNRS, France roger.pradel@cefe.cnrs.fr
Andy Royle Research statistician Patuxent Wildlife Research Center, USA aroyle@usgs.gov
Matt Schofield Lecturer University of Otago, New Zealand mschofield@maths.otago.ac.nz
Carl Schwarz Professor of statistics Simon Fraser University, Canada cschwarz@stat.sfu.ca
Tore Schweder Professor of statistics University of Oslo, Norway tore.schweder@econ.uio.no
Hans Julius Skaug Professor University of Bergen, Norway Hans.Skaug@math.uib.no
Geir Storvik Professor University of Oslo, Norway geirs@math.uio.no
Angelika Studeny Research fellow Centre de recherche Inria, Grenoble, France angelika.studeny@gmail.com
Chris Sutherland Asst Professor-quantatative ecology University of Massachusetts – Amherst csutherland@umass.edu
Jay Ver Hoef Statistician MML, USA jay.verhoef@noaa.gov

Research students

Name Position Affiliation email
Hajar Alkhezi Research student University of Sheffield HMAAlkhezi1@shef.ac.uk
Hayley Bannister Research student University of Sheffield hjbannister1@sheffield.ac.uk
Stuart Burrell Research student University of St Andrews sb235@st-andrews.ac.uk
Alex Diana Research student University of Kent ad603@kent.ac.uk
Hanan Dreiwi Research student University of Exeter had201@exeter.ac.uk
Aiman Elragig Research student University of Exeter ase204@exeter.ac.uk
Christina Fell Research student University of St Andrews cmf21@st-andrews.ac.uk
Fiona Houlgreave Research student University of Loughborough F.Houlgreave@lboro.ac.uk
Richard Glennie Research student University of St Andrews rg374@st-andrews.ac.uk
Martin Legarreta Gonzalez Research student University of Sheffield stp09mal@sheffield.ac.uk
Chris Griffiths Research student University of Sheffield CAGriffiths1@sheffield.ac.uk
Eric Howe Research student University of St Andrews ejh20@st-andrews.ac.uk
Anita Jeyam Research student University of Kent aj305@kent.ac.uk
Alun Jones Research student University of Sheffield AHJones1@sheffield.ac.uk
Esther Jones Research student University of St Andrews el298@st-andrews.ac.uk
Charlotte Jones-Todd Research student University of St Andrews cmjt@st-andrews.ac.uk
Marina Jimenez-Munoz Research student University of Kent mj328@kent.ac.uk
Natoya Jourdain Research student** University of Kent nj64@kent.ac.uk
Ratchaneewan Kumphakarm Research student University of Kent rk291@st-andrews.ac.uk
Ewan McHenry Research student University of Aberdeen ewan.mchenry.08@aberdeen.ac.uk
Louise McMillan Research student University of Auckland lmcm177@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Theo Michelot Research student University of Sheffield tmichelot1@sheffield.ac.uk
Alison Parton Research student University of Sheffield AParton2@shef.ac.uk
Rocio Prieto Gonzalez Research student University of St Andrews rpg2@st-and.ac.uk
Wei Zhang Research student University of Auckland wzha217@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Ming Zhou Research student University of Kent mz214@kent.ac.uk

Administrative and Support Staff

Name Position Affiliation email
Phil Le Feuvre CREEM computing support officer University of St Andrews plf@st-andrews.ac.uk
Rhona Rodger CREEM administrator University of St Andrews rmr5@st-andrews.ac.uk